Church Sign of the Week 3

20120604-132148.jpg

Church Sign of the week 3

What if doing the hokey pokey IS what it’s all about?

You know the song, left legs and right arms and lots of shaking, that’s what it’s all about.

The hokey pokey, or the hokey cokey if you grew up near me, is a dance phenomenon. We’ve all done at parties and weddings and usually regretted the pictures a few day later, big groups of people flailing around and us with our right arm in when everybody else has their left arm out! Social disaster.

But this week our sign asks one of the big eternal questions – what is it all about? If the hokey pokey is all we’ve got to look forward to (or back upon) then life has very little meaning and our existence is rather futile. If that is true than we are living in a very sad state of affairs. I pray with all my heart that there is more. If the hokey pokey IS what it’s all about and coke IS the real thing then why are we here? Not to dance and drink high sugar soft drinks surely?

So what is the meaning of it all? Does life have a point or is it just a finite number of days to be filled in the best way we can and then it’s lights out – nothing – oblivion?

I do not claim to have all the answers but I am convinced that life IS more real than coke and it IS about more than the hokey pokey and there is something to come after this life. I believe that God has created us and given us the unique gifts we have for a reason. What that is is between you and him, maybe you are here to do the hokey pokey, but I’m not. For me that’s not what it’s all about.

Now there are times when I have no idea why I’m here but I do have some faith. There is a great song called “Celebrate this heartbeat” by Randy Stonehill that has these words in it, words that have often given me comfort when I’m at a loss as to what I should be doing. I hope they can help you if you don’t yet know your reason.

Now I don’t understand
All the mysteries of the master plan
But I’m sure the Master does
So that’s okay.

Leave a comment

Filed under Church sign of the week, News

Leave a Reply

